Pear-Ginger-Orange Tea [gluten-free, soy-free, vegan]

I did it. I put on my heat. I figured 36 degrees meant it was okay to do it. Is this taboo? It’s only October 24th. I feel this is premature.

But so was the snow flurrying (and sticking) yesterday all afternoon, then layered on my car.

So I figure the furnace is suitable for now. Combined with this:

ginger pear tea

 

Pear-Ginger-Orange Tea

Simple and satisfying, this tea is fresh, bright, and balanced.

Serves 2

1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (from an orange! Not a carton)
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 heaping tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
1 large, very ripe pear, grated

Put the water, orange juice, lemon juice, ginger, and pear in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium-low heat and let simmer for 30 minutes. Strain the mixture into two mugs, pressing the pulp to get all the flavor. Serve warm.

Loving the warm drinks? Try my Maple-Kissed Coffee… and I have a few more on the way, too.

4 thoughts on “Pear-Ginger-Orange Tea [gluten-free, soy-free, vegan]

  1. uberdish

    A lovely cup of tea, Laurie, and very fitting for this time of the year when the cold and flu season is upon us. By the way, I really think you’ve done very well with only putting your furnace on now. (I have been known to flick the switch on in August. Gasp!). No snow here yet, but we feel it coming.

    Reply
    1. Laurie @ Whisking & Writing Post author

      August!? Well, you do live much further north than I do! So I’ll accept that. :)

      Reply

Comments welcome!

