Book Launch and Giveaways!

Hey everyone!

So in honour of Saturday’s Book Launch for The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Cakes and Cookies I’ve put together a few giveaways for the folks who couldn’t make it out.

This is my first giveaway that I’m running off the site, so hopefully I can make this happen with ease.

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 8.36.34 AMThere are four prizes to be won. Two are copies of The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Cakes and Cookies and two are GF Coaching sessions. In addition, I’m offering coaching sessions for half price until the giveaway is over (the sessions have to be booked during that time, though can be held at a later time).

To enter, leave me a comment below about which specific recipe you would make first from The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Cakes and Cookies and how you would benefit from a GF Coaching session. The recipe index is here. This step is mandatory to enter the giveaway.

You can also gain more entries by:

  • Follow me on Twitter and write an additional comment below that you did (otherwise, I may not see it).
  • Like me on Facebook and write an additional comment below that you did (otherwise, I may not see it).
  • Tweet about the giveaway with the phrase tagging me and mentioning this post and write an additional comment below that you did (otherwise, I may not see it).

So you can have up to four entries! Each comment will be a separate entry (and be sure to comment for each one). Be sure to include your email address when you register for your comment (it isn’t published) so I can contact you if you win.

Contest ends February 15th, 2013, midnight. No purchase necessary. Open to folks living in the US and Canada. GF Coaching winners must have FaceTime or Skype (local residents can be in person). Winners will be notified by email and response is required by February 19th. No response will result in a new winner being drawn.

Good luck!

To take advantage of the discounted GF Coaching session, email me to book an appointment.

55 thoughts on “Book Launch and Giveaways!

  1. Austin Rideout (@AustinRideout)

    I think, with this weather, I am probably going to miss it. But it is always nice that you do contest online. I have been craving cinnamon buns…please tell me you have a cinnamon bun recipe? If so, I would definitely be making that first. Or anything carrot! :)

    Best of luck tomorrow! Have fun! :)

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      The cinnamon bun recipe is in the first book, The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Bread. Check out the recipe index to see what is in both of the books!

      Reply
  2. Shiona

    Hi Laurie!

    I am so excited for you :) Folks – you should make the PB&J blondies first. I’ve been having cravings for them for months now!

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Shiona, I think of you EVERY time over the past couple weeks when I was putting together materials for the new book. They’re in my header, you know!

      Reply
  3. Karen

    I think it would have to be French Toast Cupcakes – maple and cinnamon, YUM! A GF coaching session would be great to learn about great tasting substitutions for our wheat-allergic sons. Have fun tomorrow!

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Thanks – neither of those are in the book, though. It is all cakes, cookies, cupcakes, squares, bars, and biscotti! But thanks for the compliment! They are delicious!

      Reply
  4. Heidi Campbell Pifiefer

    I so hope I can make it out tomorrow! The 1st recipe? Definitely the Loaded Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Frosting. Why? An old friend once told me that only grandmothers can make awesome carrot cake. If I could make a mind-blowing gfree carrot cake, well, I don’t have to explain the personal satisfaction that would come from that!

    Reply
  5. Juleigh

    I would make the Noatmeal Raisin Cookies. The girls favourite cookie & using buckwheat sounds intriguing. With the GF coaching lesson — I am floundering when it comes to gf baking. I baked a lot with wheat flour but that changed about 8 months ago & now I have NO idea what I am doing. Wheat flour has truly amazing properties. Pity it is not the same with other flours.

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Juleigh – they are HUGE favourite! I am bringing those tomorrow, and my sister-in-law is obsessed with them (really). We would definitely talk in depth about baking, if that is what you need, and answer all of your questions! I can help you revise all of your recipes, as well, with tips on creating them to gluten-free success.

      My books detail how to do that, too. Good luck!

      Reply
  6. Katrina McDonagh

    I would love to try Chocolate Chip Cookie Topped Brownies!!
    I would totally benefit from GF coaching as my 3y/o and I have just been diagnosed with celiac and I have just started to learn how to bake with out gluten, and I cant get the idea of what flours to use

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Katrina, that could definitely be a focus for us. Completely customized, one-on-one, anything you need!

      Reply
  7. Katrina McDonagh

    I liked you on facebook and am looking forward to checking out your page!
    ps have no idea how twitter works

    Reply
  8. Rochelle @ WheatlessRochelle.com

    I’d love to make the Chocolate Carrot Cake with Good-For-You Frosting because I loooove carrot cake. I’d benefit from a coaching session to help me learn more about the specific differences between GF flours and when/why you might utilize each one. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      If you like the decadence of carrot cake AND chocolate, you’ll definitely love it! I would love to do a coaching session with you on the flours!

      Reply
  9. sporadicwow

    I’m working, so am unable to make your book launch. Just reading your recipe index, however, has filled my head with sweetness and it was a yummy challenge selecting a favorite! The thought of making my own allergy-free versions of “Noreos” is deliciously compelling, as they are my vegan brother’s all-time favorite treat and my gluten-sensitive mother hasn’t been able to eat my veganised versions in the past; to create a cookie that all of us can enjoy would be heavenly… I wish you a fabulous book launch!

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Be sure to check out the recipe photo page, too — there’s a nice close-up of those ones! Thanks for the well-wishes – be safe going into work!

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Laurie Sadowski, The Allergy Free Cook Bakes Cakes and Cookies, Julie Hasson, Everyday Dish, Gluten Free Desserts, Valentine’s Dessert, Chocolate Dipped Marshmallow Skewers, vegan desserts, gluten free

  11. thepeacepatch

    I’d make your Loaded Carrot Cake with Coconut Cream Frosting right off the bat. My sweetheart loves it and would be so surprised and slapsillyhappy if I walked out of the kitchen with that one!
    I’d benefit from GF coaching because I’ve gotten different advice from friends and family, though none of them is experienced with it.
    Many thanks!

    Reply
  12. ransomcakes

    Hi Laurie, I’m very excited for your book! Last month, we just found out my 16-month old son has strong allergies to wheat, soy, dairy and peanuts. We are vegan, but the cutting out soy and becoming gluten-free has been a whole new adventure!

    I really want to make the French Toast Cupcakes for my son’s 2nd birthday this year. Also the Orange-Olive Oil cake and the Billionaire’s Shortbread cookies have my mouth watering! All the recipes sound wonderful.

    p.s. I followed you on Twitter as well as Facebook.

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      These books would certainly be right up your alley! They aren’t peanut free, but there are only two recipes with peanut butter, and that can easily be swapped for something else if you wanted to make the same dessert (like sunflower seed butter). Thank you for the compliments!

      Reply
  13. Renee

    Oh my, so hard to choose which recipe. It was close but I would make Cream-Filled Maple Leaf Cookies followed by the Noreo chocolate sandwhich cookie. I have been vegan for 5 years and gluten free for over a year. Of the two, going gluten free was and continues to be the hardest. I have not relapsed or anything but I have been tempted very much as I love bread, pizza, and flour tortillas. I haven’t found a substitute that has satisfied me. I would love coaching to help me find a path through being gluten free that would work for me so that I could enjoy it more. I am off to like your facebook page too. Regardless of the outcome, I will probably be adding your cookbook to my collection one way or another! I am happy to have found your blog and it is now on my blog roll.

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Renee, have you checked out my first book? There are loads of fluffy breads, a thin crust pizza crust, and flour tortillas in that book. The breads stay moist and sandwich ready at room temperature for a couple days, and there are sweet bread recipes, too (doughnuts, cinnamon rolls).

      Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      Thanks, Stephanie! Will do! Remember to make separate comments for each entry in the contest, so when I put them in the generator, it counts each one.

      Reply
  14. Yvonne

    I would make the maple-leaf cookies first – I love maple syrup!
    Gluten-free baking is still a bit new for me, so I’m eager to learn!

    Reply
  15. kimmythevegan

    Woot! I would love your cookbook =)
    I think I would have to try double cashew butter cupcakes – holy crap those sound amazeballs!
    I just started following you on facebook (I don’t have twitter…).

    Reply
  16. Pingback: Luscious truffles, giveaway, and more! | whisking & writing

  17. valeriecrozier (@valeriecrozier)

    I just bought your book “Bakes Bread” I have not had a chance to make anything yet, but I hope to this weekend. From your new dessert book I would probably make the Boston Cream pie, since it is one of your favourites! I follow you on Twitter and I’m going to like you on FB too.

    Reply
    1. Laurie Post author

      I’m thinking about it right now, actually… :)

      Don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions regarding the book!

      Reply
  18. Lori

    Pumpkin Cake with Cranberry Filling and Maple-Pecan Streusel because pumpkin and cranberry are my two favorite flavors!

    Reply
  19. Pingback: I made a cake. Giveaways and discount extended! | whisking & writing

  20. Catherine Martin

    It was a really tough decision, but I think I would make the coconut walnut squares first, they sound amazing!

    Reply
  21. Karina

    I would make the maple cookies with maple cream filling…the whole index had me drooling though…i want to make it all!!!

    Reply
  22. Linda Coulton

    I would make the Chocolate Chunk-Orange Bundt Cake as I love them both chocolate and orange and I bought a bundt pan for my birthday last week. I did like your site and am so excited to find bread and cakes with out eggs and milk and of course gluten free,
    Thanks so much, Linda

    Reply

Comments welcome!

